Services | Reviews and Awards | Contact Us | FAQ | Home

 

 

 

Old Fashion Values and Experience You Can Trust


Reviews and Awards

Old Towne Plumbing, Inc. Earns Coveted Angie’s List
Super Service Award

Award reflects businesses’ consistently high level of customer service

Old Towne Plumbing, Inc. has been awarded the prestigious 2011 Angie’s List Super Service Award, an honor bestowed annually on approximately 5 percent of all the businesses rated on the nation’s leading provider of consumer reviews on local service and health providers.

“Only a fraction of the businesses rated on Angie’s List can claim the sterling service record of being a Super Service Award winner because we set a high bar,” said Angie’s List Founder Angie Hicks. “The fact that Old Towne Plumbing, Inc. can claim Super Service Award status speaks volumes about its dedication to consumers.”

Angie’s List Super Service Award winners have met strict eligibility requirements including earning a minimum number of reports, an exemplary rating from their clients and abiding by Angie’s List operational guidelines.

Ratings are updated daily on Angie’s List, but members can find the 2011 Super Service Award logo next to business names in search results on AngiesList.com.

###

Angie’s List collects consumer reviews on local contractors and doctors in more than 500 service categories. Currently, more than 2 million consumers across the U.S. rely on Angie’s List to help them make the best hiring decisions. Members get unlimited access to local ratings via Internet or phone, exclusive discounts, the Angie’s List magazine and help from the Angie’s List complaint resolution service. Take a quick tour of Angie’s List and view the latest Angie’s List news

 

I called Dave to replace 2 of my 3 toilets before company came for Thanksgiving. Dave was able to beat everyone else's prices. After, an incident where we had to reschedule the appointment, he showed up on time and was done in a little over an hour and a half. The toilets work better than I'd hoped. Even my husband is happy. Home Run! Thanks a million!
Fran M., Bethesda, MD

12/7/2011
Dave came out to do what I thought was going to be a major job (at least $500 worth of work, which I was prepared to pay) on our washer/dryer area. He came out and saved us all that money and told us a much simpler fix that we could do ourselves! So he didn't actually end up doing any work, but he was a pleasure to talk to and very down to earth and friendly. I will definitely call him for any future plumbing needs.
Emily S., Rockville, MD

Updated - 11/2/2011 An update: David returned to install a faucet that I bought myself and to fix our running toilet. He was in and out and we haven't had a problem since! I can't say it was cheap but I don't have a great frame of reference for plumbers. The best part is that David called about a week after he was here to make sure everything was still okay. What a simple gesture but it really meant a lot that he really cared about our problem. Do not look elsewhere for a plumber!
Amanda P., Rockville, MD

10/12/2011
I called David on a Tuesday and he was here Wednesday morning to check on our leaky kitchen faucet that leaves water all over our counter. David looked at the faucet and told me it had to be replaced, giving me options whether I wanted to do it myself or have him do it. While he was there, I also had him take a quick look at our toilet that runs excessively. David determined the problem right away. David was so personable (even friendly with my cat!). He's been in the business for 20 years, knows his stuff, and provides services with a smile. I would recommend him to anyone and will definitely use him in the future.
Amanda P., Rockville, MD

9/2/2011
I had a mysterious noise coming from my condo walls every time the water ran, and I wasn't sure if it was a neighbor's problem or mine, or what. I needed someone who really knew what to look for based on a random noise. I called David after reading good reviews. He called me back the next day and although it was a little challenging nailing down a time we were both available, and when my neighbors would be available, it worked out well. He was willing to come after 7pm on a weekday. He was a few minutes late, but that's ok. I didn't have an emergency. He's very people-friendly which made it easy to hand him off to my neighbors to have their plumbing checked out by him. He had shoe covers ready and was more than happy to put them on. He found the problem within a few minutes and tightened some regulator at no charge in my neighbor's house and was on his way! Can't ask for a better plumber than that! He just asked I write a few reviews for him in payment and I gladly will. If I have anything else for him, I will definitely give him another call.
Bee K., Gaithersburg, MD

6/25/2011
I was getting the house ready for two houseguests and discovered that my guest room shower drain was backing up. I contacted David by phone and he was able to accurately diagnose my problem over the phone (after returning my call promptly...already impressed!!) He was polite, professional and set up an appointment immediately. He arrived for the appointment early, gave me a very fair quote, and went to work. After a host of bad experiences with electricians and plumbers, David was like a breath of fresh air. His magnet is staying on my refrigerator for GOOD--for sure! It is so nice to deal with the owner of a company who really values his reputation and know what it means to give 5-star service.
G.L., Washington, DC

2/24/2011
David from Old Towne Plumbing came out to my house in Chevy Chase this morning to fix a clog in our basement. We had arranged for him to come at 9am and he called at 8am to confirm. He was here 10 minutes early with a big smile and a helping hand. What a nice guy! He fixed our plumbing problem within an hour and a half, was tidy, cleaned up after himself , and had his van packed up and ready for his next job. I definitely recommend Old Towne Plumbing and will use them again in the future!
Carr L., Chevy Chase, MD

5/14/2010
Superior service, great rates, quick response and trustworthy experience and very neat work.
By Guest 93019, From Superpages.com

8/16/2010
He did a couple things for us. He fixed a radiator that needed to be shortened. He also fixed the main water shut off to the house, it was leaking. I thought his prices were the best. He came over real quick, actually the same day. There was no hidden cost. He was extremely skilled. I got more than my money's worth. I appreciate his knowledge and honesty, his years of experience, personality, knowledge, honesty, and good price! Hire him!
By anonymous, From Superpages.com

12/15/2010
We had a sewage backup in our basement. We called Old Towne Plumbing and they were able to make it to our house very promptly, in under 30 minutes. They snaked the main sewage line out of the house within the hour, which substantially helped with the sewage cleanup issue. We then talked about potential options to ensure this would not happen again. After speaking with David about all the options available, we decided to have them scope the drain with a camera to determine the cause of the initial problem and I'm glad we did. There was a significant dip in the main sewage line headed out of the house. I was able to watch David scope the drain via a monitor, that he provided, so we could discuss what we were seeing. After seeing the issues happening in the pipe it was clear, even to me, that the whole line would need to be dug up and replaced. The main pipe excavation/replacement went very smoothly and only took a few days. As the excavation progressed, the main water line was uncovered and discovered to be damaged. David recommended that we replace the water line. We chose to, and our water pressure drastically increased. David was extremely professional throughout the entire process. He answered all of our questions thoughtfully and with the expertise you would expect from a professional. Having just gone through this entire process, which is extremely stressful, I can honestly say that we were thrilled to have David there to help us the whole way through. He was on time every day and really took the time make sure you understood what he was doing and why, which is rare to find nowadays. During the process, he was quick respond to our questions and if we left a message he responded immediately every time. The only good thing that happened from the sewage backup in my house was that we've found a reliable plumber for any future problems that we might have.
By Guest16935, From Superpages.com

12/15/2010
Service Date: September 17, 2010 Would Hire Again: Yes Approximate Cost: $443.00 Description Of Work: They replaced two pipes to the master bathroom sinks, repaired a faucet, and repaired a pipe to the powder room in the toilet. Comments: David was very punctual and professional, yet pleasantly personable. He completed everything and cleaned up within 1.5 hours.
By Guest34244, From Superpages.com

12/15/2010
They were very polite and professional over e-mail and phone. The plumber came by for an estimate after arrangements with another plumber fell through. The estimate amount was average compared to other area plumbers we called. We scheduled the repair for the following week. He was a little late, but he was very professional and informed us about it. He did the install in under an hour and cleaned up nicely after himself. Our new faucet is works and looks great and we're happy with the price as there was no change to the estimate.
By Guest81986, From Superpages.com

12/15/2010
He did a couple things for us. He fixed a radiator that needed to be shortened. He also fixed the main water shut off to the house, it was leaking. I thought his prices were the best. He came over real quick. There was no hidden cost. He was extremely skilled.
By Guest52667, From Superpages.com

12/20/2011 DAVID CAME TO INSPECT A PROBLEM, FOUND IT IMMEDIATELY, BEING JUST A REGULATION OF VALVE DID NOT CHARGE ME AT ALL, NOT EVEN A FLAT RATE FOR THE INSPECTION.HE EXPLAINED VERY CLEARLY THE PROBLEM AND HOW TO AVOID IT IN THE FUTURE. I WILL SURELY CALL HIM FOR FUTURE SERVICES.
Anna A., Potomac, MD

9/20/2011
Description Of Work: Slow/blocked toilet. Old Towne Plumbing was called out to fix the blockage. Great! We found the plumber on Angie's list and called them and they were able to come out within the day. The plumber was very professional and handed his card as he entered and introduced himself. This made me feel at ease. He quickly set about work on our upstairs toilet and quickly discovered one of our kids' toys wedged way back in the pipe! Once he removed the blockage, he tested his work several times. This was simple work but we were impressed and would use this company again.
John H., Gaithersburg, MD

11/30/2011
Description Of Work: Replaced both heating elements on my electric water heater. Overall went very well. David (the owner) called to coordinate a time and was willing to work around my schedule which was great because I work in downtown DC and live in Gaithersburg. He showed up when he said he was going to, diagnosed the problem in a few minutes and had the job done in about an hour. He was very professional, cleaned up completely after himself (some water on the floor) and was very helpful in answering some additional plumbing questions I had. I rated the experience a "B" on price because I thought $350 was a lot of money to replace a couple of $15 heating elements. I assume ALL plumbers would charge about the same thing though - my rating is for the cost of the repair, not David as a plumber.
Mark H, Gaithersburg, MD

11/10/2011
Description Of Work: Toilet was having flushing issues and making a lot of noise. It went very well. I thought I needed to replace the entire toilet, but David was able to replace the mechanisms and clean the jets to make the toilet work the way it should.
Lori P., Gaithersburg, MD

10/31/2011
Description Of Work: Removal of old toilet with rusted bolts, cabinet and sink in bathroom. Installed new toilet and water shut-off valve. Shortened the feed pipe to toilet. Installed new pedestal sink with new hardware. Moved the feed pipes to sink with new shut-off valves up under the pedestal sink. Dave from Old Towne Plumbing removed an old toilet and sink on Friday so that the flooring company cold install a new vinyl floor without these items in their way on Saturday. He then returned on Monday to install the new toilet and pedestal sink which involved moving water lines to the pedestal sink so that they are not easily seen under the sink and installing new water shut-off valves. He did not charge extra for the 2 trips since he had already given me the quote prior to knowing what work was being performed. He offered to make the extra trip. I am very pleased with the job done. He was on time and left the space like I had hoped, clean and functioning.
Stephen W., Damascus, MD

7/01/2011
Description Of Work: Major pipe replacement and Two bathroom faucet replacements The plumber was quite responsive and punctual. He replaced a major horizontal pipe that had a crack across the top. We were pleased with the results. We also had him replace two bathroom faucets and again were pleased with the outcome.
Cecilia M., Gaithersburg, MD

5/1/2011
Dave from Old Towne Plumbing gave an accurate estimate for purchase and installation of a water heater and garbage disposal, replaced under the kitchen sink pipes and fixed a pipe in the basement. He arrived on time as scheduled and did all work we requested. He is both a nice person and a great plumber. In fact, the water heater inspector recognized Dave' s high quality work. I would highly recommend Dave to anyone. I can't think of any don'ts for Old Towne Plumbing. The estimate was accurate. The work was professional. It has been several months since we had the work done and nothing has gone wrong. All in all, I can't think of a single negative!
Nancy O., Rockville, MD

8/25/2011
I had to have the fixtures in two bathrooms replaced (shower) due to the old ones being seriously outdated and having pieces stripped that made it difficult to control the hot water. I received a quote (previous to using Angie's List and finding Old Towne) and I was quoted $1500.00 for a job in just ONE bathroom. I was told I needed things replaced that turned out to be untrue. Thankfully, Dave proved to be an honest plumber. He cleaned up after doing the job and I am extremely pleased with a job well done. I would definitely recommend his services and feel that the quality of work and the prices charged were more than reasonable. Additionally, he provided recommendations for over the counter solutions to solving slow drains, he fixed the water pressure in the second master bedroom's bathroom, and he provided one of the bathrooms with a new bathtub plug. He is busy, but he was always on time for appointments. I contacted the company via the Angie's List email and received correspondence back within a few hours requesting me to call Dave to explain my problem, which I did. We set up a time for him to do an assessment and give a quote and he came the following week to do the work.
Suzanne M. Tampa, FL (Landlord)

7/21/2011
Construction of the condo did not lend itself to easy upgrade. A lot of problems were encountered when installation was attempted and the configuration behind the wall did not lend itself to easy installation. A lot of additional work was required to install and replace the fixtures with 2X6 construction in the way. Replaced the water heater and replaced the fixtures in 2 bathrooms (sink and shower). There were problems encountered in both installations caused by previous construction of others but they kept working at it and made all necessary changes to meet my satisfaction. Dave worked over 12 hours one day to finish the job without charging anything extra for the extra time needed to fix problems caused by previous workers. Dave was always upbeat and professional and followed-up to make sure everything went well. There were problems with installation and problems with the pilot on the water heater initially but Dave always responded quickly and immediately to issues, following-up on a daily basis until all issues were resolved. I would recommend Old Towne Plumbing to anyone that asked.
Robert B., Darnestown, MD

7/14/2011
Very professional service. Extremely fair price, especially considering how much time was spent. The most professional plumbing service I have ever used. I highly recommend this company. Very honest plumber. Did not try to embellish the job or tell me to buy stuff I didn't need. I plan to use them for other projects in my house. Glad that I found this company. Jacqueline K. Gaithersburg, MD

6/22/2011
David came out to my home the week before the job to look at the situation. He determined that the leaking spigot definitely needed to be replaced. Leaking outside spigot needed to be replaced. In order to do this, because of the location of the pipes in my home, a hole had to be cut in the wall in my living room to get to the back of the spigot. He gave me an estimate to do the work, and called me the next day with his work schedule for when he could do the job the following week. He came on Wed, the 22nd, exactly on time (first he called me 30 mins prior to his arrival to remind me and to tell me he was on his way). He started the job right away, and seemed to be finished in no time. The damage to my wall (which is behind the couch, anyway) seems minimal and will easily be repaired. He did a very clean cut of the drywall, so I can put the same pieces right back in. He didn't just rip it all up. He cleaned everything up, and I was on my way to work very soon. David is a very friendly, happy guy! He instantly makes you feel like you could leave him in your house for the day, alone to do any needed work and it would be fine, after knowing him 5 minutes. I can honestly say he cured my plumber phobia! I will never worry again about having to call one. His magnet is on my fridge.
Tammy J., Germantown, MD

4/1/2011
David came out to my house to give me an estimate on some plumbing issues I had. I found him to be very friendly, punctual, professional, and knowledgeable. I had to delay the work date several times due to other issues coming up but David was very adaptable and stayed in touch with me to see when I had picked a date. On the date he came to do work, he was right on time and took care of business. His work was very neat and very well done. I wouldn't hesitate to use him in future.
Lynne C., Gaithersburg, MD

6/10/2011
Two shut off valves behind a tub were replaced and the copper pipes were changed to a more effective configuration. This is not an easy job to arrange in a condo where the whole vertical tier of units have to have their water turned off to have this done. Timing is important. David arranged to be here at the time the building set, called when he was running a few minutes late in traffic, and finished the work in a timely fashion. He worked with the building engineers to make the repair a minimal intrusion to all the people affected. In addition, he came to the building an earlier day to fill out the paper work that is required before any work can be scheduled. He was professional, riendly, polite and the repair works (unlike other work done by other plumbers who seem to hate condo work)! The whole process with Old Towne went smoothly. I will use the company again.
Victoria M., Bethesda, MD

5/7/2011
I highly recommend David, owner of Old Towne Plumbing. Here are the reasons why. I hired David to do a custom work, involving installing a hot water filter to the bathroom shower system. If you are not familiar, hot water carbon filters to filter chlorine are not very common, so I have to do a bit of research before I could buy everything needed for the installation. David did a wonderful job in doing this custom work with exceptional results. Other reasons I recommend David are the following: On time every time: For this work, David had to come three times. First visit was to learn about the work. Second was to see the parts I ordered so as to know what is involved in the work. The third visit was to actually do the work. In all these times David arrived exactly at the time he said he will come. Quality: He is meticulous with his work. When you see him work, you will immediately realize that he is proud of the job he is doing. His pipe soldering is precise. After doing several pipe joints, there was not a single sloppy joint nor there was a single leak. He listens to your requirements and do the work exactly as you want it to be. He is pleasant and funny. His price is reasonable – yes I did compare prices.
Jayan N., Potomac, MD

5/19/2011 We had our old (23 yr.) 40 gal. gas hot water heater replaced with a new 50 gal. tank; the entire system was brought up to code. Everything went very well. Dave came over beforehand (for free), inspected the old unit, and gave us a quote. On the day of installation, he called an hour before he came, arrived on time, and finished the job in about 4 hr. He was professional throughout. I am very satisfied with his work, and wouldn't hesitate to contact him again. Michael F., Gaithersburg, MD

4/1/2011
Repaired leaking toilet tank, which had leaked through floor into bsmt. David fixed the leak fairly quickly, and checked the bsmt to be sure that damage was minimal. Cost within acceptable range for this repair. Most important is the confidence I have in David and his work.
Paula W., Gaithersburg. MD

3/31/2011
After 3 plumbers were unable to deal with bathroom tub issues, Dave from Old Towne Plumbing undertook substantial efforts and got everything done. He put in considerable work, all within his original estimate. We are very pleased and highly recommend Old Towne Plumbing. Installed kitchen disposal, replaced kitchen spigot handles, repaired old bathroom tub, including substantial pipe rerouting to allow proper drainage, replaced tub spigots, repaired bathroom sink and second bathroom toilet.
Lucy P., Gaithersburg, MD

2/10/2011
In the process of a small remodel on our kitchen, we needed a plumber to connect the new gas cooktop, connect the sink, etc. We contacted several companies for estimates (all found on Angie's List) and decided to go with Old Towne Plumbing. The work included extending the gas pipe in the crawl space beneath our house, connecting and testing the line to the cooktop, and connecting the new sink, and reconnecting the disposal and dishwasher, to the existing water pipes. David was extremely professional and pleasant throughout. From the first contact, he responded quickly to my calls. He gave me an estimate the day after he came out (others took up to one week) and followed up with me to see if I had questions. The job was split into two days (due to ordering parts and scheduling around my work). David did good work. He was respectful of my time and was fastidious in cleaning up when he finished his work. David even cleaned up a mess left under the sink by one of the other subcontractors!
Kendra S., Rockville, MD

3/8/2011
Our toilet was stopped up. David came out and fixed the stoppage and repaired a leaking valve. Old Towne Plumbing did an excellent job and was very professional and reasonable in price.
Carla T., Gaithersburg, MD

2/17/2011
On 02/17/2011, Mr. David W Brennan, Master Plumber and owner of Old Town Plumbing, Inc, Came to my house and give me an estimate of the work to be done. It was $2,500.00. The work was to replace a water service line from the WSSC (Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission) valve to the water meter in my house, about 25 or 30 feet, which have a hole and was leaking. On 02/28/2011, David started the job, but has to stopped because WSSC valve was also leaking and David could not shot close it complete. He had to wait for WSSC to replace the valve. On 03/03/2011, one day after WSSC replaced the faulted valve, David came to work, at 7:30 AM and worked till 7:30 PM that he finish to replace the leaking pipe, after he solved many unexpected problems because the way the old leaking pipe was situated under ground in a clay wet soil. On 03/05/2011, because some water was seeping though the new pipe and the concrete inside the basement, David came and dug a hole outside the house foundation were the water line inter the house, dip enough to relief the pressing of the ground water against the foundation wall, and sealed well around the pipe entrance to the foundation of the house. The seeping water stop. The work was done. I would happily recommend Mr. David Brennan and the Old Town Plumbing Inc. to any one that need a plumbing job.
Carlos P., Olney, MD

3/4/2011
David did a great job -- he was professional, punctual, knowledgeable, and friendly. Scheduling an estimate and work appointment was really easy. He worked quickly and neatly -- nothing to clean up afterwards. And of course, the work he did was top quality. I would definitely call him again, and I would highly recommend him.
Kristin L., Rockville, MD

2/15/2011
Our kitchen sink was clogged badly. I tried to fix it myself using the plumbing snake, but had no success. David from Old Towne Plumbing was a great help. He unclogged in timely manner. He covered the whole kitchen with construction cloth and cleaned up after he completed the job. David was very professional; he showed up exactly on time. He also honored the coupon from Angie’s List. There was no need for printing the coupon. The price for the service from Old Towne Plumbing was the most inexpensive I could find. I would not hesitate to use him again, and would recommend him to my friends. Fatima A., North Potomac, MD

2/15/2011
I first contacted Mr. Brennan about a disposal problem and he gave me some directions to try that might correct the problem. They worked and I called him back to tell him and he told me that there would be no charge. I then asked him about another problem and he made an appointment to come to my home and look at the situation. He arrived promptly at the appointed hour and we agreed on his recommendation which involved installing a auxiliary pump which would have to be ordered. After it arrived he made an appointment to come and install it. On the appointment date he called me to tell me that an emergency job had come up and he would be arriving at my home an hour or so late. That was fine for me and again he arrived as he said. He installed the unit and checked out my hot water heater and reset the temperature a bit higher. The new aux pump system works very well and we are entirely satisfied with his correction of our problem (hot water in the kitchen took very long to run hot because the hot water tank is quite far away from the kitchen and the line runs through a slab in contact with the ground and starts out with a large slug of cold water when the kitchen tap is opened). Mr. Brennan is very professional and performs his work in a well organized manner. He is also cheerful and personable. Several days after the work was finished he called just to make sure that I was completely satisfied. I would call upon his services again without any hesitation and would recommend him to my best friend.
Kenneth R., Bethesda, MD

1/14/2011
Contacted Old Towne Plumbing, based on the Angie's List report. David got back to me right away and arranged for an appointment to give an estimate. He was very prompt, courteous and pleasant. He surveyed the old gas water heater system, described the repair and advised on how to bring the repair up to code. The original heater was twenty years old and the system needed updating. The repair was timely and well executed. The work area was well cleaned after the work was completed. I was very pleased with the service, start to finish. I wish all home repairs could be so well executed.
Lu Ann C., Montgomery Village, MD

12/23/2010
I had two burst pipes which needed replacing/repair. Dave was professional, punctual, he did the job right and his rate was reasonable. I'll definitely call him again the next time I need help.
Brian Spence, Arlington, VA

12/2/2010
Dealing with David was really quite easy - from initial conversations, to scheduling the job, to him performing the work. He was very professional and explained everything that would be involved in the job. He was patient and understanding with me during the scheduling process, never rude or pushy. The work was completed within the time-frame that was quoted. All in all a pleasurable experience.
Ed A. ,Germantown, MD

12/23/2010
David showed up on time. Was very friendly and comfortable with what he was here to do. Charge was reasonable. He called back a few days later to make sure things were still working properly. I plan to use him again to replace the faucet in my kitchen.
Lea J., Germantown, MD

9/17/2010
They replaced two pipes to the master bathroom sinks, repaired a faucet, and repaired a pipe to the powder room in the toilet. David was very punctual and professional, yet pleasantly personable. He completed everything and cleaned up within 1.5 hours.
Belle S., Germantown, MD

 


Licensed and Insuredd
Emergency Service Available
(301) 515-1142
service@OldTownePlumbingInc.com
We Accept Visa, MasterCard, Checks
 

Serving all of Montgomery County, MD including Gaithersburg, Germantown, Rockville, Bethesda, Silver Spring, Clarksburg, Damascus, and Laytonsville
Also Serving Frederick

Website by Marc Nathan and Simply Computers Plus